The Black Jewel Trilogy by Anne Bishop

**This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links.

Posted January 11, 2019 by Leona Woolfolk in Book Reviews, Books / 0 Comments

The Black Jewel Trilogy by Anne BishopThe Black Jewel Trilogy by Anne Bishop
Series: The Black Jewel Trilogy #1
Published by Roc on December 2, 2003
Genres: Dark Fantasy
Pages: 1216
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star
Also by this author: Etched in Bone, Marked in Flesh, Written In Red, Murder of Crows, Vision in Silver, The Pillars of the World

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Novels of the Others comes the award-winning Black Jewels trilogy—Daughter of the Blood, Heir to the Shadows, and Queen of the Darkness—together in one volume for the first time!

Anne Bishop’s critically-acclaimed Black Jewels Trilogy is the saga of one young woman’s destiny played out against the backdrop of three powerful realms...

Seven hundred years ago, a Black Widow witch saw an ancient prophecy come to life in her web of dreams and visions.

Now the Dark Kingdom readies itself for the arrival of its Queen, a Witch who will wield more power than even the High Lord of Hell himself. But she is still young, still open to influence—and corruption.

Whoever controls the Queen controls the darkness. Three men—sworn enemies—know this. And they know the power that hides behind the blue eyes of an innocent young girl. And so begins a ruthless game of politics and intrigue, magic and betrayal, where the weapons are hate and love—and the prize could be terrible beyond imagining...

Includes an Introduction by Anne Bishop

Daughter of the Blood by Anne Bishop is the official first book of The Black Jewel Trilogy by Anne Bishop. I started reading this installment when I purchased it’s Kindle version, but I couldn’t keep the review snippets I had read on Goodreads out of my mind. The last time I had this issue was when I started and stopped Outlander, before I decided to go forth with reading and devouring it.

Daughter of the Blood by Anne Bishop started off as no other story I had the privilege of reading. I was immediately enamored with both Lucivar and Janelle’s character. But yet, this brief glimpse into the convoluted world that is Bishop’s Black Jewel series could’ve never prepared me for what was further revealed as I continued reading on to the other installments within this trilogy.

Janelle was a gifted child that was severely abused and cast off, but yet found strength and belonging with the most unlikeliest of companies. Those that were the subject matter of the nightmares of both children and adults she called friends and family. Those who were outcast and thrown away she sheltered and protected. Her character was such a beacon of all that’s appealing to me in a character that’s surrounded by corruption and greed that I fell face first into this series and crossed all my fingers and toes that I would never have to resurface.

Heir to the Shadows by Anne Bishop, second installment of The Black Jewel Trilogy, continued right where Daughter of the Blood ended. I couldn’t keep myself from turning the next page so that I could continue on with this trilogy. I knew that Heir of the Shadows was going to contain many intense moments simply because of how everything came to a head in Daughter of the Blood.

It feels so good when the thoughts and hopes you have about a series or book turn out to be true. Anne Bishop is an all-time favorite not because she penned one of my all-time favorite series, The Others, but because when she writes a story she leaves not corner or crevice undiscovered and you are left with no questions or regrets once you’ve turned to the very last page. This series is nothing short of spectacular.

To be quite honest with you, I’m not entirely clear on the specific details of this installment simply because I devoured it and continued on to Queen of the Darkness, but I do know that Janelle was placed in many hard and unyielding situations that a lesser person would’ve folded, but she shined bright like the diamond (or Jewel) that she is and survived as only she knew how.

Queen of the Darkness by Anne Bishop, the last installment of The Black Jewel Trilogy by Anne Bishop, wasn’t my favorite out of this trilogy simply because after so much build up from the previous two installments I felt that the momentum shifted into first gear and remained there for two thirds of the story.

I understood Bishop’s need to slow things down but I really needed to know that everything was going to be okay and that things weren’t going to go from bad to worse for all the character I had come to know and love. Sadly, Bishop is too real of an author to sugarcoat things because in this installment some hard decisions were made and some of the gang didn’t make to the end of this trilogy.

I can’t wait to continue on with this series because I have to know what’s next for the gang and what other obstacles would dare get in their way as the Blood celebrates a real Queen in the realm.

One StarOne StarOne StarOne Star

About Anne Bishop

Anne Bishop lives in upstate New York where she enjoys gardening, music, and writing dark, romantic stories. She is the author of fourteen novels, including the award-winning Black Jewels Trilogy. Her most recent novel, Twilight’s Dawn, made the New York Times bestseller list. She is currently working on a new series, which is an urban dark fantasy with a bit of a twist.

Crawford Award (2000)

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.